[Skip to Content]Privacy Policy
Skip to main content

Texas Silver-Haired Legislature Begins 20th Term

Monday, September 18, 2023

Dalia F. Martinez from Laredo, Texas was sworn in as a member of the 20th Texas Silver-Haired Legislature (TSHL) at its Orientation Session held July 16-20.  Seventy-one delegates from 23 of the 28 Area Agency on Aging regions in Texas were sworn in at the Texas State Capitol for a two-year term by the Honorable Gary VanDeaver, member of the Texas House of Representatives from New Boston, Texas. 


Martinez, an Executive Vice - President at IBC Bank in Laredo,  was nominated by Texas State  Senator for District 27 Morgan LaMantia based on the merits of her community involvement. She has been an active board member for Salvation Army, United Way, Children's Advocacy Center and the Make-A-Wish Foundation to name a few.   


The Orientation Session was the first of three TSHL sessions over the next biennium. The delegates will research issues of concern to older Texans, prepare resolutions for proposed legislation, pass them through committee, and vote on them in full chamber at the TSHL Legislative Session to be held in the Spring of 2024.  Approved resolutions will be included in a TSHL Legislative Report that will be delivered to all Legislators, as well as to the Governor and Lt. Governor, in advance of the 2025 State session.



 "We sincerely thank our elected officials for the significant number of bills passed to address the needs of older Texans," said Sherry Hubbard, elected TSHL Speaker for the 20th Session.  "We also remind them we'll be back to address unfinished business and we have started that process with this Orientation Session and swearing-in of our new delegates.  Citizens can be proud of, and comforted by, the 38-year relationship of the TSHL and the State Legislature that has produced over 275 pieces of legislation related to concerns for the ever-growing population of older Texans," she stated. 



The Texas Silver-Haired Legislature is a non-partisan body authorized by the 69th Texas Legislature with the adoption of SCR 37, on April 3, 1985. Additional information is available on the website, www.tshl.org